Skip to Main Content

Modern Languages & Civilizations

Nursing Header

Faculty & Staff

FULL-TIME FACULTY

Mickey Hong

DEPARTMENT CHAIR
Program Director, Korean
JH 111G
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2736
hongmj@lacitycollege.edu

Youngmin Bae

Program Director, Spanish
JH 111D
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2746
baey@lacitycollege.edu

Yelgy Parada

Spanish
Director, Study Abroad to Spain
JH 111A
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2735
paraday@lacitycollege.edu

Enriqueta Leyva

Spanish
JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
leyvae@lacitycollege.edu

ADJUNCT FACULTY

American Sign Language
Esteban Gomez

Program Director, American Sign Language
gomezen@faculty.laccd.edu

Christine Karesh

Program Director, Dual Enrollment ASL 
kareshc@faculty.laccd.edu

Romina Mena

menarm@faculty.laccd.edu

Alfredo Quispe

JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
quispeac@lacitycollege.edu

Armenian
Hasmik Chobanyan

chobanh@faculty.laccd.edu

Alvard Uzunyan

JH 114
Program Director, Armenian
uzunyaaa@lacitycollege.edu

Chinese
Grace Yang

Program Director, Chinese
JH 114
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
yanggh@lacitycollege.edu

French
Lauren Brown

brownla@faculty.laccd.edu

Rebecca Ebin

ebinrs@faculty.laccd.edu

Japanese
Grigor Ketenchian

Program Director, Japanese
JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
ketencgs@lacitycollege.edu

Kanzo Takemori

JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
takemok@lacitycollege.edu

Saori Tauchi

JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
tauchis@lacitycollege.edu

Korean

Jane Choi

JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
jane@humnet.ucla.edu

Seung-ah Lee

lees3@faculty.laccd.edu

Jihyun Park

parkj3@faculty.laccd.edu

Russian

Irina Gutkin

JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
gutkini@lacitycollege.edu

Olga Ivanova

(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
ivanovom@lacitycollege.edu

Larisa Karkafi

Program Director, Russian
JH 114
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
karkafla@lacitycollege.edu

Spanish
Juan Alvarez

JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
alvarejf@lacitycollege.edu

Rene Castillo

JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
castilr@lacitycollege.edu

Sandra Novoa

JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
novoasg@lacitycollege.edu

Mario Rivera

JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
riverama@lacitycollege.edu

Maria Villegas

JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
villegme@lacitycollege.edu

Silvia Zamora

JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
zamorasr@lacitycollege.edu

Susana Zarate

JH 108
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2730
zarates@lacitycollege.edu

 Contact Us

Modern Languages & Civilizations

Mickey Hong
Department Chair
(323) 953-4000 ext. 2736
hongmj@lacitycollege.edu

Jefferson Hall 111 & 114
(Adjunct Faculty Office: Jefferson Hall 108)
Los Angeles City College
855 N. Vermont Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90029

Language Lab

Jefferson Hall 115

 Office Hours

Contact individual instructors for office hours.

 Life at LACC

Learn more about the French program at LACC by following our Student Blogger Elisabeth!

Los Angeles City College | 855 N. Vermont Avenue, Los Angeles California 90029

|

Phone: 323.953.4000

|

Emergency: 323.953.2911